Practicing some self-restraint. Sorta.

I started this blog almost a month ago on what was surely one of the most anti-social but most enjoyable Saturday evenings I’ve had in a while. I sat down with this curry:

Friends will be unsurprised to see that I have kept a photo of my dinner from three weeks ago.

Friends will be unsurprised to see that I have kept a photo of my dinner from three weeks ago.

and this movie:

Flawed thinking in DVD store: "yeah, this will be fine to watch alone".

Flawed thinking in DVD store: “yeah, this will be fine to watch alone”.

I put on the pink fluffy socks my grandma sent me for my birthday and cackled at my own good fortune. I don’t mean this euphemistically. I literally laughed, out loud. I know, I know. It’s just a hop skip and a jump to crazytown here, kids.

After I watched Kevin be creepy for two hours, I got up, turned on all the lights in the house, and decided I needed a project to keep me busy until dawn. So I started this blog. As with everything I start – whether it’s a sewing project, a low-carb plan, a relationship – I threw myself in with both feet first, not looking where I was going, smug that I’d found the One Thing To Make Life Complete. In terms of this blog, that meant posting six times in an hour with my hand hovering over the “share on Facebook then email all your friends about it then text them to see if they got your email” button.

But, I’m a grown up now. I am all too aware that these One Thing To Make Life Completes often turn out to be the opposite. The sewing project ends up in a plastic bag, half-finished. The low-carb plan is abandoned, because, bread. The relationship ends in death threats AND he takes the popcorn machine. So I decided to practice a bit of discipline. I’d only tell people about this blog after 30 posts.

…Then, fine, I got too excited. But 20 is the new 30, right?

So far I’ve told some stories, written some lists, wondered about the truth behind a calendar hunk, reviewed some public toilets in haiku form… so far I’m having a blast and I hope you enjoy it too!

One response

  1. Pingback: Blog launch party | Let's Get Milkshakes!

Leave a Reply

