Happy fat dogs

I am a huge fan of the blog 1000 Awesome Things. Celebrating the things in life that give you that little spine tingle of delight? Amazing. It makes me happy about the world that this blog even exists. I even bought the book, knowing I’d never actually sit down and read it… I just wanted to give money to someone because I liked them. (Note: this is not a good habit).

My favourites are the really specific ones:

#78 Finding the right lid in the Tupperware cupboard immediately
#482 When your shoes are tight enough to stay on your foot but loose enough to slide on and off without untying them
#652 Using any item within reach to help grab the remote control so you don’t have to move

So. Yesterday I went for a walk. The sun was out, which was nice. The air was warm, which was nice. The water was blue, which was nice. Basically enough bland ‘nice’ to make me shoot an Obama-not-bad-face at the universe.

Not bad, not bad at all.

Not bad, not bad at all.

But as I got closer to the area with the cafes, I started encountering people and their dogs. Fat ones. It seemed that everywhere I looked, slightly exasperated thin people were dragging along rotund corgis. It filled me with utter joy to see these dogs thoroughly enjoying the sun and thoroughly enjoying their own beefy frames. I don’t know why. If I were writing my own 1000 Awesome Things list, this would be the first thing on it:

#1: Dogs that are fat – not so fat they are unhappy or immobile, but just cuddly and wobbly, sort of like the Dawn French version of a dog – out enjoying the sun. Bonus points awarded if their owner is whippet-thin and seems embarrassed by their dog’s chunky build.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Children with wheels in their shoes falling over | Let's Get Milkshakes!

  2. When you drop something and grab it before it hits the floor….ninja moment

    When someone actually witnesses you do it….awesome ninja moment

Leave a Reply

